top of page
Search

A BRIGHTER FUTURE AWAITS YOU: Clinging to the Present Could be Holding You Back



I can still remember the Spring morning that I sat in the Sunday School class at my former church for the last time. For more than a year I had felt a nudging in my spirit that it was time for me to move to another church. But I kept ignoring the whisper from my soul. After all, I had been a member of the church for almost twenty years. It just didn’t make sense. I had been actively involved, I knew the people, I loved my pastor—this was my home!


Yet, there was something different about this particular Sunday morning. As I sat in class listening to my instructor, that still small voice became a shout. It was my wake-up call. As I drove home with tears streaming down my cheeks, I knew that this chapter in my life had come to a close. Now was time to embrace a new horizon. It was a smooth transition for which I had been, unknowingly, prepared.


What are you clinging to that’s preventing your from stepping into the next level in your life?


You may have become so entrenched in your familiar surroundings that your emotions won’t let you to move to the next place of development. Perhaps you too need to make a clean break from a situation you’re holding onto because it’s comfortable or sentimental. You know that it’s not the right fit at this season in your life, but you’re cleaving to it because it’s familiar.


Our needs change as the seasons of your life change. What you needed at one stage might be different at another stage. It doesn’t necessarily have to mean that what we’re letting go is bad, but that we must leave it behind in order to fully embrace what is in front of us.


Examine various areas of your life: relationships, career, spiritual, financial, etc. Are you clinging to unproductive relationships, a dead-end job or clutter that’s impacting your physical or psychological well-being? Perhaps it’s time to drop the baggage and reach for the door in front of you.


Begin positioning yourself to receive and enjoy all that life has in store for you. Take a step in the direction that calls you right now. You can’t lay hold of the new while clinging to the familiar.


29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page